Gallery

Tejano singer Selena honored by the USPS

I think I was in high school when Selena Quintanilla-Perez was shot and killed by her fan club president.  Her death shocked the Latino community almost in the same way Elvis’ death shocked white America – a huge loss musically.  But culturally, a even bigger one.  Although I do not speak spanish, good music is good music and I remember hearing her music from my Latino friends and I remember liking her.  That girl could SING.  I became a fan posthumously when her “Dreaming of You” album was released and some years later when her biopic, played by Jennifer Lopez, came to the movies.

I learned today that there is a Latin Music Legends Forever collective stamps that went on sale earlier this year and Selena was one of the honorees.  The stamps were created by a Latin artist named Rafael Lopez.

Leave a Reply

