One of R&B’s best is gone…

Without a doubt, Teena Marie had one of the best voices in music.  Along with that great voice she had straight HITS.  With her untimely death the day after Christmas, the “Ivory Queen of Soul” as she is dubbed, was an unsung legend.   But I don’t want to talk about how she was snubbed for awards or how her career fizzled.  I want to discuss how her voice sent goosebumps up my arm.  How you feel when she comes in on one of the best duets of our time, “Fire and Desire”.  When I hear that song I wish I was around when it came out so I can get a nice slow grind in a dark corner at a basement  house party with my boo.  No matter what club you go to, if it’s dead or if you broke your ankle dancing so hard, when the DJ puts on “Square Biz” you and your one foot are back on the dance floor looking crazy as hell.  “Portuguese Love” was the love story we all wanted. “I Need Your Lovin” is another hit that can get an old school party jumping while you’re whispering “Ooh La La La” in your hunny’s ear.  It’s “Deja Vu” when you meet that new flame because you’re thinking “I’m Still In Love” with the old one.

Although we weren’t hearing new songs from her every year, her death leaves a void.  Not because she was one of my favorite R&B singers of all time, but because she was one of the best of all time.  Hopefully with Teena’s untimely death, she will not be forgotten.  The new crop of “singers” need to be reminded of what singing REALLY is.

One comment on “One of R&B’s best is gone…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention One of R&B's best is gone...: -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

