Old School Saturday is Atlanta’s best party of the month

As I limp into the house at 2:30 in the morning I realized that my feet are killing me.  My feet never hurt on any other occasion.  Then I thought hard about the last time, if ever, my feet felt like this and it was the last time I went to Old School Saturday, OSS as the public calls it.

If you’re new to Atlanta, visiting Atlanta or been here your entire life but never been to an Old School Saturday event, you need to make it your point to attend the next party.  I know the name may throw you off.  “Old school” sounds like a room full of Harold Melvin and the Bluenotes party goers but it’s the complete opposite.   I’m 33 and happy to have grown up in the greatest era of hip hop and the 2nd greatest era of soul and r & b (the first being the Harold Melvin and the Bluenotes era).

One Saturday a month at a different location throughout Atlanta, usually at the top hotels in the city, they play “The Soundtrack of Your Life” which is respectively their motto and it’s exactly how I feel with each and every song they play.  Think of every classic hit of the 80’s and 90’s from the different genres of music and this is what the night is made of.  Tonight they did a large tribute to Michael Jackson to commemorate the year anniversary of his untimely death.   Most of his greatest hits from the Jackson 5 to the Bad album brought me down memory lane and reminded me how I’m still upset that he’s gone.

As usual I had a great night…..to a degree.  The OSS staff and events are very organized and well thought out.  But the one issue that almost ruined the night for me was the Westin Hotel’s air system in the ballroom that the event was held in.  It was so hot in there it literally cut into my dance time.  At one point it was almost unbearable to stand in the room.  What concerns me about this is I’ve been to other non OSS events at this Westin in downtown Atlanta and have never experienced no air at the event.  I don’t know if that’s a practice of Westin but it’s definitely not a good look when this group brings approximately 2000-3000 people through their doors buying their hotel drinks the whole night.  OSS, you may need to look into that.

The next Old School Saturday is July 17, 2010 at the Hyatt.  Meet me there or beat me there.  Either way, I’ll be there!   This is going to be me:

LOL!  Sike.. I’m playing.

2 comments on “Old School Saturday is Atlanta’s best party of the month

  1. OMG!!!Old School Saturday was an awesome night. My feet haven’t hurt that bad in a very long time. I have not sweated that bad in a very long time either. It’s a great laid back affair with the perfect atmosphere. I will be there next month.

Leave a Reply

