“I have a Bennetton heart and a David Duke dick”

You have probably already heard or read John Mayer’s interview with Playboy.  If you didn’t, here is just an excerpt of what’s on the mind of Mr. Mayer.  I guess since it’s Black History Month he needed to do his part.  Read on…

PLAYBOY: If you didn’t know you, would you think you’re a douche bag?

MAYER: It depends on what I picked up. My two biggest hits are “Your Body Is a Wonderland” and “Daughters.” If you think those songs are pandering, then you’ll think I’m a douche bag. It’s like I come on very strong. I am a very…I’m just very. V-E-R-Y. And if you can’t handle very, then I’m a douche bag. But I think the world needs a little very. That’s why black people love me.

PLAYBOY: Because you’re very?

MAYER: Someone asked me the other day, “What does it feel like now to have a hood pass?” And by the way, it’s sort of a contradiction in terms, because if you really had a hood pass, you could call it a nigger pass. Why are you pulling a punch and calling it a hood pass if you really have a hood pass? But I said, “I can’t really have a hood pass. I’ve never walked into a restaurant, asked for a table and been told, ‘We’re full.’”

PLAYBOY: It is true; a lot of rappers love you. You recorded with Common and Kanye West, played live with Jay-Z.

MAYER: What is being black? It’s making the most of your life, not taking a single moment for granted. Taking something that’s seen as a struggle and making it work for you, or you’ll die inside. Not to say that my struggle is like the collective struggle of black America. But maybe my struggle is similar to one black dude’s.

PLAYBOY: Do black women throw themselves at you?

MAYER: I don’t think I open myself to it. My dick is sort of like a white supremacist. I’ve got a Benetton heart and a fuckin’ David Duke cock. I’m going to start dating separately from my dick.

PLAYBOY: Let’s put some names out there. Let’s get specific.

MAYER: I always thought Holly Robinson Peete was gorgeous. Every white dude loved Hilary from The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. And Kerry Washington. She’s superhot, and she’s also white-girl crazy. Kerry Washington would break your heart like a white girl. Just all of a sudden she’d be like, “Yeah, I sucked his dick. Whatever.” And you’d be like, “What? We weren’t talking about that.” That’s what “Heartbreak Warfare” is all about, when a girl uses jealousy as a tactic.

I”m going to say this with love because that’s the only way I know how to do it, but John epitomizes the covert racism that sits in the bloodstream of most people in this country.   Covert, because up until today most of his fans probably never thought Mr. Mayer was a racist.  And that’s exactly what he is.  People typically say things they feel or believe in.  The fact that he was so at ease with expressing this to an outlet as large as Playboy Magazine really shows his true colors.  Imagine what he’s saying in the privacy of his four walls with his closest friends.

I”m not a racist so I don’t go around calling white people “crackers”.  I don’t go around giving silent “shout  outs” to Hitler.  I don’t go around making statements that inflict pain, induce inferiority and offend people of a certain race or ethnicity BECAUSE THAT’S NOT HOW I FEEL.   There was absolutely no reason or basis for his response which makes the comments even that much worse.  Honestly, he really could have just said “my preference is not black women” and I could have respected him.  But you couldn’t do that could you John?  Since your duets and performances with the likes of Common, Kanye and Jay-Z, you probably obtained a huge new black following.  The same black following that probably made purchases of your cd.  The same black following that you probably offended in some way with this interview.  So Mr. Mayer, you and that proverbial “hood pass” and your “David Duke dick” just lost a fan.  I thoroughly enjoyed your music and actually just made a purchase on iTunes the other week which I will try to return.  I also had 2 of your CD’s in my iTunes “Wish List” that I will remove.  I guess that’s your loss.*shrugs*

5 comments on ““I have a Bennetton heart and a David Duke dick”

  1. I think that Mayers’ comments were an “out of the closet” statement that he harbored for some time. I won’t go as far to call him a racist, not because seeking to align myself with some new way of thinking, but rather to show tolerance for an idiot, his whiskey, and his inability to curtail his words.

    It would’ve been so much easier if he just said that he’s not interested in Black women. Unfortunately, there are some Black women who feel betrayed by him. He wasn’t dating your ass then, so what are you missing now?

    I know this is about a musician and his opinion. However, his opinion is shared in so many other facilities of life. But for the literalist, I’ll keep it “par”. If a Black celebrity said the same or ANY derogatory remark, he might not work again. (a la Isaiah Washington)… Hell, Kanye only acted ass and so many people wanted to see his career taken away him.

    But John Mayer? Hmmmm. We as Blacks have had to assimilate, adapt & accept White America. Whites are always telling us to GET OVER SLAVERY. Well, actually we have. Think of all the concessions us Blacks have had to make to achieve the “American Dream”. From education, to careers, buying a home, and building a family.

    I have a challenge for all you people that want to defend him. Find me a White artist/musician that invited a Black artist to perform HIS album. Then let’s talk about how Whites tell us to get chip off our shoulders, but as a majority, they haven’t done the same.

  2. With all due respect, he is not being racist by any stretch. He clearly has no problems with black people, he’s injecting comedy into his admission that he’s not attracted to black women in general. And there is simply nothing wrong with that at all.

    Mayer explains that he’s had struggle in his life, but that it isn’t comparable to the struggle of black people, and doesn’t really deserve a hood pass. It may not have been said eloquently, but that’s the gist of it.

    The “very” thing is an observation about black culture, and how he can relate to it through the concept he calls “very”.

    Regardless of the simplistic interpretation of him as racist, instead of as a realist who is willing to share his views with the rest of the world, he still plays good music. If you’re willing to stop listening to his music because of a stupid/poorly phrased comment, it’s not a reflection on him, it’s a reflection on an acute level of sensitivity that does nothing to further race relations. This mentality only promotes the black/white mentality, Mayer’s comments aren’t filtered through a lense like that, but that people are people.

    • I think that’s part of the problem… this excuse we use “poorly phrased comments”. He could of easily said “I’m not attracted to black women” but to insert the reference to David Duke who is/was clearly a racist has more than poor judgement behind the statement. It’s how you think and feel. If someone says “do Jewish men throw themselves at you” and I respond “well no, I have a Hitler p*ssy” are you trying to tell me there’s only “poor phrasing” behind that?! You’re not serious. That statement is a sentiment about how I feel about Jews!
      I think lessening these comments do nothing for race relations. Because the next person reading your response who reads comments like John’s will say “he really didn’t say anything” when he absolutely did.
      I’m also so tired of people trying to downplay or dumbdown what a racist is. Hood pass “really should be called nigger pass”.. what the hell is that jj? So because he’s not on a horse in a white sheet, or hanging black men in his backyard, or not saying nigger in his lyrics, or doing duets with black artists, means he’s not a racist? I would never ever make any derragotry reference to Jewish brothers and sisters,Latino, Middle Eastern, White, Asian because I don’t think of them in a derragotory way. People say exactly how they think and feel. It wouldn’t come out of your mouth if you didn’t!
      Mabye if ppl like you would stop tolerating the bs then more ppl like John wouldn’t even think of being at so much ease to make those statments to a huge outlet such as playboy magazine. Damn right I’m no longer supporting him.. just like I don’t support half the offensive sh*t that comes from black artists.

      And what makes him a realist? There’s nothing “real” about what he said above. Because he recognizes that he’s never been told ‘we’re full” in an empty restaurant? Any fool with their eyes open that’s not in complete denial about racism can make that statement.

      Only a racist makes racist statements. Period. I don’t make statements. My friends don’t make these statements. My parents and grandparents have never these kind of statements. Because its not in us.
      But most importantly he has a social responsibility to his fans. A portion of what makes him wealthy is from his black fan base. And he’s not even descent enough to say “I prefer not to date black women”. He’s not even descent enough to not use the word nigger? GIVE ME A BREAK! If it walks and quacks like a duck then god damn it it’s a duck!

  3. Don’t forget he has a duet with Alicia Keys also. A black woman! I am totally not feeling him anymore. Like you said, he could have just said “my preference is not a black women”. A “David Duke Dick” was very totally out of place. He just lost another fan. I was really digging him too, but not anymore. I don’t support David Duke and I will no longer support John Mayer.

Leave a Reply

