When Do You Give Up on Your Dream?

A tweet  on Twitter from a gentlemen I’m following named @Loch121 started a real good conversation.  His twit said: Deep down I don’t think my girl believes in me as far this rap game and wants me to be some 9 to 5 dude I can’t be. This caught my eye because just the day before I had this same discussion with a man and a woman who was saying that a guy she was friends with from college was still trying to get into the industry and he needed to “hang it up.”   Immediately I asked,  “why?”   Her response was because bills need to be paid and if he hasn’t made it now then he just needs to stop and how she wouldn’t date a guy trying to get into the industry or would have an issue with her guy trying to get into the industry.

I’m totally against her view and a lot of women’s views who are not in support of their man trying to get into the entertainment field.  We’ve been conditioned to get good grades, go off to college and find a good job and anything off that beaten path is to not be supported ESPECIALLY if it’s to be an entertainer.  Don’t get me wrong.  There’s a difference between a man who’s not trying to do anything and just wishes upon a star to turn into the next rap star.  That is not to be supported but if he is doing everything in his power to make it, if he’s grinding day and night, if he’s trying his best,  I think that is TO BE  supported.

I think @Loch121 said it best, “I”m not a 9 to 5 dude.”  There’s a lot of people who feel the same way and I’m one of them.  I am not a 9 to 5 dudette.  If you’re dream was to go off to college and become a doctor that’s YOUR dream.  Why is that dream ok to support and a dream to be a rapper not?  Or a dream to have a chain of mechanic shops?  Or a dream to start a rock band?   I hear the argument because bills need to be paid.  One could easily say the same about your dream to be a doctor.  You have to go through 4 years of college, 4 years of medical school and then another 3 years as an intern.  That’s 11 years of getting no money.  So why are those 11 years of struggle ok?  And I don’t want to hear because you’re guaranteed money at the end of the road.  No you are not.  No one is.  Plus you just accumulated 200k in school loans so most of your money is accounted for.  But that’s not even the issue.  You lived your dream.

The point is, just because you conformed to societies rules (which is not a bad thing if that’s your dream to work for someone else and make THEM rich) doesn’t mean your mate should.  Say Jay-z, 50 Cents, Eminem or Will Smith gave up?  It took years of hard work for them to get where they are now.  I remember seeing 50 Cents in Cancun well over 10 years ago passing out his CD.  Not selling them but passing them out.  People were looking at him like he was a scrub.  People were turning down his FREE cd.  People were throwing them on the ground and leaving them on the tables at the party we were at.  He didn’t throw his box down and leave.  He kept on passing the CD out.  Now look at him?  He’s worth about how many HUNDREDS of million?

To the people out there really striving for their dream, I say keep on striving until you get there.  Never give up and NEVER conform.  And to the ladies, support your man if he’s out there REALLY trying to fulfill his dream.

I’m going to leave you with quotes from two songs that captures what this post is all about.

Goapele – “Closer”

But, I’m going higher
Closer to my dreams
I’m goin’ higher and higher
I can almost reach

Some times you just have to let it go
Leaving all my fears to burn down
Push them all away so I can move on
Closer to my dreams
Feel it all over my being
Close your eyes and see what you believe

Trey Songz – “Gotta Make It”

all I got is a dollar and a dream
Is ya gonna roll wit me?
You see I’ve tried a 9 to 5, and it just don’t fit me
I can get us out the hood and have us livin good
Ya feel me?
But I aint leavin here if you ain’t wit me
Cause girl a suit wit a smile that don’t fit me
Taking a bus for some miles is gon kill me
I’m tryin’ to turn it around,
start this thing from the ground
and as long as you’re down I know,

Looking at you day after day, I know I
Just Gotta Make It (alright) Just Gotta Make It
Just to see that smile upon your face I know I
Just Gotta Make It (alright) I Just Gotta Make It
Everything I do I do for you and we
Just Gotta Make It (alright) Just Gotta Make It
To the top of the world me and my girl we

5 comments on “When Do You Give Up on Your Dream?

    • Also, you have to ask yourself if making it is really what it is all about as well. And what is making it? How many great people actually make it. How many people who are not so great make it? But ask yourself what it is really about. I think that would clear a lot of things up for you.

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  2. Pingback: Twitted by jawar

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention When Do You Give Up on Your Dream? « Cocoa Chicks Critiques -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

